Morrisons Cove Herald - Putting cows on the front page since 1885.

By Brian Hess
Staff Writer 

Martinsburg Swears in Officials for Another Year

M-burg Chooses Dickson as President


January 9, 2020

Magisterial District Judge Andrew Blattenberger gives the oath of office to recently elected Martinsburg officials Monday night, Jan. 6. Sworn in were (from left): Richard A. Brantner Sr., mayor; P. Robert Dickson, council; Charles E. Kensinger, council; Darin B. Meck, council; and David L. Harker, Council. Dickson was named president of the borough council later that evening.

Martinsburg Borough Council elected a new president during its reorganizational meeting Monday, Jan. 6.

P. Robert Dickson will lead the council in 2020. He was nominated by Durban D. Metzler, which was seconded by Charles E. Kensinger. Dickson was the lone nomination for council president.

Dickson replaces Connie S. Lamborn as leader of council. Lamborn, who served as president of council 10 of her 12 years of service, did not seek re-election in 2019.

"I will do my best to keep things running smoothly," Dickson said. "Please bare with me, this is something new for me."

Taking the oath of office that evening were councilmembers Dickson; Charles E. Kensinger, Darin B. Meck, David L. Harker, and Mayor Richard A. Brantner, Sr.

Metzler was named vice president. Edward L. Bennett was named the council's pro-tem.

Appointment commissioner of their respective committees were Bennett, safety and streets; Linda Smith, property; Dickson, finance; and Metzler, water/sewer.

Kerry L. Hoover was re-elected chief of police, police department open records officer and fire marshal.

Justin Davis was reappointed police sergeant.

Gieg Law Offices LLC, Altoona, will once again be the borough's solicitor.

Council re-elected Richard Brantner Jr. as borough manager, emergency management coordinator, deputy open records officer and zoning officer.

M. Jane Staily was reappointed borough secretary, borough treasurer, open records officer and chief administrative officer of the pension plan.

Dustin Russell was named the borough's deputy emergency management coordinator.

Stiffler, McGraw & Associates, Hollidaysburg, was retained as the borough's engineer on an as-needed basis. Attorney Shawn Sullivan is the zoning solicitor.

Ritchey, Ritchey & Koontz, which has a branch office in Martinsburg, will be the auditor for the fiscal 2019.

Council approved the following board appointments: Jon Keim and Joe Logan, zoning hearing board, three years ending Jan. 1, 2013; Nathan P.. Ormsby and Darin B. Meck, four years ending Jan. 1, 2024; and Jeffrey S. Reid, five years, municipal authority.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 01/17/2020 08:53